I’m gonna share one of the project I had in my course subject, Microprocessor here. The title of my project is GPS sensor. So I was required to interface with GPS sensor by using Intel 8085 microprocessor. The language used is assembly language.

Image
Hardware of the project

Global Positioning System (GPS) is satellite based navigation systems that provide location and time information. Normally, a GPS can provide information such as location given in latitude, longitude, and altitude. Besides that, a GPS can also provide current date and time based on Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Hardware

The GPS that is used in this project is SKM53 GPS module Starter Kit (SKGPS-53) which is a product of Cytron. The GPS has been made in module and the output has been level shift to 5V TTL logic level. The output from this module is in Universal Asynchronous Receiver/Transmitter (UART) form. So this requires serial communication to obtain the data output.

Image
SKGPS-53

Image

Image
Parts of SKGPS-53

As mentioned above, the communication used to interface with this module is UART. So UART requires 2 data line which is the Transmitter (Tx) and Receiver (Rx). The baud rate output from GPS by default is 9600, 8-N-1, which means 8 data bits, no parity bit, one stop bit.

Image

I have added LCD to this project so that the data can be seen directly from LCD instead of monitor. Displaying on LCD also ease the mobility of project as it can be carried away from computer to detect signals. I had tried it on outdoor to get the GPS signal during my viva, and it was a success that I can get the output. 🙂

Keypad is added to allow easier user interfacing. Keypad provides more buttons with 8 I/O pins than using normal tact switch for buttons. Interfacing with keypad requires scanning of each row and column to detect the button pressed.

Image
Schematic diagram of the circuit

There are still a lot of data and functions that can be done from a GPS module. Due to time constraint, I never had the chance to improve my project. So this gives me a room of improvement for my project which I can develop in the future.

Image

Last but not least, a video demonstration of my project. Enjoy 🙂

